Bagged Coffee Review: Slate Coffee Roasters Gaturiri

20140527-183602-66962286.jpg

I recently went to Slate Coffee Roasters in Ballard (Seattle) to get a great cup of coffee while I was down there for the weekend. After deciding on the Ugandan, the barista informed me that it had SL-28 in it, usually known to be grown in Kenya. The atmosphere was great, packed yet inviting.

Before I left I found myself purchasing one of their 125 gram bags of a light roast from Kenya.

Fragrance/Aroma – 23 points
As I ground the coffee in my Hario Slim the smell of of sweet cherry began to permeate out. It was a very deep fragrance that I couldn’t quite put my nose on but drew me in like an addiction. As I began pouring the bloom a vanilla aroma wafted up taking me by surprise.

Flavor/Aftertaste/Acidity/Body/Balance – 25 points
There was a beautiful acidity within the cup witnessed by the semi-glaze on the top. As I took my first I was hit with an explosion of fruit. It tasted like a grapefruit that had been pressed out as much as it could with a hint of orange. The body was amazing, a explosion in the front that mellowed back leaving a nice coffee flavor in the mouth for a while.

Sweetness/Uniformity/Cleanliness – 24 points
The cup was very sweet and there was no need to add sugar (who does that anyway?). All the way through the last sip the cup stayed nearly perfect which allowed for a very clean cup in the end. The liquid was thick which allowed for the sweetness of the cup to be even more pronounced.

Packaging – 23 points
The packaging was some of the best I have seen. For starters the resealable pouch is a plus over conventional ties. The possibility of a one way valve comes in mind but I don’t think that the coffee is sitting long enough on people’s counters to need degassing. The roast date a origin are prominently displayed on the bag noting that it is indeed fresh. On the back of the back, the farm and varietal information is displayed (SL-28, SL 34 Barich, 1600+ meters, washed, raised beds for the Kenyan). The piece de resistance is the description of the farms at the bottom. It is a paragraph long and gives insight into who produced the coffee.

TOTAL- 95 points

Leave a Reply

